Tiger Reserves in India

There are 50 tiger reserves in India which are governed by Project Tiger which is administered by the National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA). India is home to 70 percent of tigers in the world. In 2006, there were 1,411 tigers which increased to 1,706 in 2011 and 2,226 in 2014. According to latest statement by Environment Minister, the count had gone up to 2500 in 2016.

53,547.5 km2 of declared reserves are operated by state forestry departments “to ensure maintenance of viable populations of the conservation dependent Bengal tigers in India. The tigers are maintained for their scientific, economic, aesthetic, cultural and ecological values and to preserve for all time areas of biological importance as a national heritage for the benefit, education and enjoyment of the people.”

In addition to existing reserves, The in-principle approval has been accorded by the National Tiger Conservation Authority for the creation of four new tiger reserves, and the sites are: Ratapani Tiger Reserve (Madhya Pradesh), Sunabeda Tiger Reserve (Odisha), and Guru Ghasidas (Chhattisgarh). Final approval has been accorded to Kudremukh National Park (Karnataka) for declaring as tiger reserves by States. The State Governments have been advised to send proposals for declaring the following areas as tiger reserves: (i) Suhelwa (Uttar Pradesh), (ii) Mhadei Sanctuary (Goa), (iii) Srivilliputhur Grizzled Squirrel Wildlife Sanctuary / Megamalai Wildlife Sanctuary / Varushanadu Valley (Tamil Nadu), (iv) Dibang Wildlife Sanctuary (Arunachal Pradesh) and (v) Cauvery-MM Hills (Karnataka).


Name State Area in km²
Bandipur Karnataka 1456
Jim Corbett Uttarakhand 1288
Kanha Madhya Pradesh 2052
Manas Assam 3151
Melghat Maharashtra 2769
Palamau Jharkhand 1130
Ranthambore Rajasthan 1411
Similipal Odisha 2750
Sunderbans West Bengal 2585
Periyar Kerala 925
Sariska Rajasthan 1213
Buxa West Bengal 758
Indravati Chhattisgarh 2799
Namdapha Arunachal Pradesh 2053
Dudhwa Uttar Pradesh 2202
Kalakkad-Mundanthurai Tamil Nadu 1602
Valmiki Bihar 899
Pench Madhya Pradesh 1180
Tadoba Maharashtra 1728
Bandhavgarh Madhya Pradesh 1598
Panna Madhya Pradesh 1579
Dampa Mizoram 988
Bhadra Karnataka 1064
Pakhui Arunachal Pradesh 1198
Nameri Assam 344
Satpura Madhya Pradesh 2133
Anamalai Tamil Nadu 1480
Udanti-Sitanadi Chhattisgarh 1843
Satkosia Odisha 964
Kaziranga Assam 1174
Achanakmar Chhattisgarh 914
Kali Karnataka 1098
Sanjay-Dubri Madhya Pradesh 1675
Mudumalai Tamil Nadu 689
Nagarahole Karnataka 1206
Parambikulam Kerala 644
Sahyadri Maharashtra 1166
Biligiriranga Karnataka 575
Kawal Telangana 2019
Sathyamangalam Tamil Nadu 1408
Mukandra Hills Rajasthan 760
Nawegaon-Nagzira Maharashtra 1895
Nagarjunsagar-Srisailam Andhra Pradesh 3296
Amrabad Telangana 2611
Pilibhit Uttar Pradesh 730
Bor Maharashtra 816
Rajaji Uttarakhand 1075
Orang Assam 492
Kamlang Arunachal Pradesh 783

Leave a Reply